Sign Languages of Canada

Multicolour open hand surrounded by exhibit title

This exhibit introduces viewers to six Sign Languages used in Canada: American Sign Language, Langue des signes québécoise, Plains Indian Sign Language, Inuit Sign Language, Maritime Sign Language, and Oneida Sign Language. Maps, videos and illustrations explain the histories and unique characteristics of these different languages.

If you would like information about hosting this travelling exhibit, please contact

Enjoy these videos about sign languages on Youtube!
ASL: Lack of access to sign language a growing problem in Saskatchewan
MSL: How the deaf community is preserving Maritime Sign Language
PISL: Indian Sign Language Council of 1930 and Plains Sign Language camp a new spin on an old way of communicating on the Prairies
OSL: Oneida Sign Language Thanksgiving Address 

Current Exhibits
Bob Rumball Canadian Centre of Excellence for the Deaf
2395 Bayview Avenue
M2L 1A2 Toronto , Ontario
Ontario CA
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 to Tuesday, September 28, 2021

Panels / Audio